Fairfax DUI Lawyer Explains: Baby DUI in Virginia
In Fairfax, Virginia (and everywhere in the Commonwealth) it is illegal for any person under the age of 21 years to operate (or drive) a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .02 percent but less than .08 percent.
A violation of Virginia's “Baby DUI Statute” is punishable as a Class 1 Misdemenaor.
- Forfeiture of privilege to drive for one year
- May be issued a restricted driver's license
- Mandatory minimum fine of $500.00 or mandatory minimum 50 hours of community service
- May be ordered to complete ASAP (Alcohol Safety Action Program)
This is essentially a strict liability offense. There is no defense that one is not intoxicated or inebriated at all. This offense prohibits, practically speaking, a person under the age of 21 years from driving with alcohol in their system.
If you are charged with a Baby DUI, contact George Freeman today. There could be defenses to your case based on the traffic stop and other legal issues. Mr. Freeman is an experienced trial attorney and Fairfax Criminal Defense Attorney; he will gladly meet with you to discuss your situation.